The twilight woman

I belong to the twilight generation of Lebanese-Australian working women.

My generation was born after the long dawn of women’s rights in Australia. Because of those who came before me, I am legally protected from being discriminated against because of my race or gender.

My horizons were swung open with the end of the White Australia policy, and coloured by my migrant experience. I am here because my parents moved to Australia for a better life, far away from the conflicts of war-ravaged Lebanon.

Like many first-wave migrants, my dad the engineer couldn’t find a job in his field. He traded his future for our own, working in fish and chips shops to support his three girls through school.

The road since has not been easy….

Read more here #SBS 

Leave a Reply

