PERFORMANCE: Hiraeth

I mentioned in my last post (POEM: Hiraeth) that I had performed one of my poems as part of Multicultural Arts Victoria’s Emerge Festival: Common Ground 2016.

The poem is titled ‘Hiraeth’, a Welsh word for which there is no direct translation; a ‘homesickness for a home to which you cannot return, a home which maybe never was; the nostalgia, the yearning, the grief for the lost places of your past’.

I acutely feel this ache whenever I ‘go back to where I came from’ and reclaim the receding fragments of my youth from the Lebanon of today.

This poem is a tribute to this feeling, which is really the feeling of any migrant who yearns for a homeland that has long moved on:

Leave a Reply

